Tanahleng

你需要錢

(短篇小說)

這件事是你老婆過世時開始的。

因為你從來不是精神很堅強的人,所以失去老婆像沒有可以靠的柺杖一樣。你的生命忽然搖晃、成了完全孤獨的生命。她過世的這件事,你接受不了。然後,這就是你發現你新職業的原因。

今天,你接受新的案子,是你第一百三十七的案子。你跟通常一樣仔細地管它。你電腦的電風扇快快地旋轉,免得電腦過熱。你先是把所有客戶傳給你的材料彙整:有照片、錄音、影片、甚至味道的紀錄。接著你開始用材料創造模擬本。你在暗暗寢室裡面,一直盯著電腦的螢幕。外頭的聲音到你的耳朵,但你不理它們。你完全專心你的任務,外界觸碰不到你。

這一次的案子是很一般的。做完以後,也許客戶會允許你把它上傳到你線上的網站。但是一般的客戶會給一般的待遇。付了生活費後不會剩多少錢了。

一口氣用一個星期做完工作,但你終於做到的。儲存了結果,你把它發給客戶。這次案子的目標是一位外曾祖母。她是八十九歲,睡覺時過世的。但是現在,因為你,她就能回去她家。最起碼她的模擬本會回去。

你在椅子上舒服地坐拉筋。做完這個案子上你感覺很滿意。但讓你最愉快的是,你感覺你對一個人類有用,也讓她的生活比較美麗。 不過,這種案子越來越少。

像平時一樣,你把你的VR帽* 放在你的頭上。寢室、傢俱都立刻消失,但過了ㄧ瞬間,等VR帽好啟動了,都出現回來了。像真實的世界一樣。

只有一個區別:你的老婆也在。她用愛情塞滿的眼睛盯著你。她問你今天怎樣、有沒有關於你們女兒的消息、女兒最近在哪裡和做什麼。你跟你老婆很正常地談話。像是真實的世界一樣地談話。

這代的電腦真是了不起的機器。你老婆的模擬本很像實在的。而且,從你創作你老婆模擬本的時候,模擬軟體很有進步。最近,模擬人與實在的人幾乎區別不了了。只有一個方法:模擬人不能發現它過世了。所以,即使她五年前過世,但你老婆還繼續跟你談話。

你接的頭一個案子是要模擬過世家裡人的模擬。你的客戶都希望會有跟過世人活下去的機會。希望會跟他說話、聽他、甚至碰到他(但這個需要專門觸覺模擬硬體)。甚至味道也能模擬。這個讓你的工作更複雜,但你是很細心的人,所以你的客戶總是很滿意。

過了一天,你接到新的案子。這次,要用密碼解密客戶發給你的文件。如果有密碼,代表是不正常這類的案子。但不一般的案子會給很可觀的待遇。

模擬的目標是三十多歲的女人。她也許是客戶的同事或者朋友,這個你不知道。反正你不能知道。因為你跟你客戶的合同條款,所以你禁止尋找更多、客戶不願意讓你知道的消息。而且你的客戶是誰你也不知道。他是用不直接的方法付錢給你、為了保護自己。他叫你做的工作完全是非法的,但他願意付很多錢作為賠償。有時候,這種案子的工資比一般案子的工資高到十、二十倍。

這種客戶平常會有詳細的腳本。除了照片、影片和另外偷偷攝影的資訊以外,客戶還會發給你他要你輸入模擬軟體的劇本。工作結束後,你當然把所有文件刪除。你希望警察或某人永遠不會來查看你工作中在電腦裡面的文件。不然,你的生活一定會變成噩夢。

你第一次接到這種案子的時候,你這麼驚奇!但那次的客戶要付大錢,而你那時候正好很需要錢因為剛剛做了很貴的手術。手術費非常高,而像你貧窮的人沒有健保。你強迫申請五年的貸款和抵押你的房子。因為那次案子的工資讓你還款和省好多錢,所以你沒躊躇很久。

反正這都是虛擬的,不是真的。客戶能看、聽、聞、甚至碰(這是大多數這種客戶主要的要求)但都還是虛擬的。真實人永遠不會發現自己有滿足你客戶所有夢的模擬版本。這個理由幫你消除你的顧慮。

你早就習慣這種案子。其實,你收入的大部分是從這種案子接的。

你專心,準備開始工作。你打開第一份客戶發來的文件,為了學這次要模擬的人。

你馬上認出她。這就是她。她還是胎兒的時候,你已經認識她。她是小孩子的時候,你抱她懷裡。



VR帽的例子

攝影師:Andri KoolmeCC - BY 2.0


翻譯校對:史修齊。謝謝!
2018年11月30日

Tanahleng

You need this money

(short story)

It all started when your wife died.

You have never had a well-balanced and resilient mind. To you, her sudden disappearance felt like losing the crutches you had been walking with for years. Suddenly, you stumbled and fell into a new secluded life. You couldn’t accept the reality of her death. And this is what brought you your new vocation.

Today, a new order came in, the 137th order. You take care of it as well as usual. The fan of your computer spins fast to prevent overheating, due to the heavy computations needed by your software. The first step of the work is simple, it consists in gathering and examining all the documents provided by your client: photos, videos, sound recordings, odor recordings, etc. Then, the next step is to create the simulation. You stay seated in front of your screen, in that dark bedroom of yours which you rarely leave. The noise from outside reaches your ears but your brain doesn’t heed it. You are completely focused on your current task. You are in a trance-like state, out of the reach of the outside world.

Quite unusually, this order is not a weird one. If you are lucky, the client will allow you to showcase your work on your online portfolio. But this kind of order rarely earns you a lot. Certainly not enough to put some money aside for your old days.

It took you one full week, but you’ve completed it. You export your work and send it. This time, the target was a grand-grand-mother, aged 89, who died peacefully in her sleep. Today, thanks to you, she is ready to go back to her family. Virtually, that is.

You lean back on your seat and stretch your arms. It feels good to have completed your work. And what you enjoy the most is this feeling of being useful, of making the life of someone more beautiful. Unfortunately, orders of this kind are getting scarcer with time.

Following your daily routine, you seize your VR helmet* and put it on your head. For a short instant, everything that surrounds you disappears, but one second later, the bedroom reappears, thanks to the helmet. It looks like the real world.

Except for one detail: your wife is here too. She looks at you with eyes full of love. She asks: how was your day? Have you got any news from your daughter? You chat with your wife as if it were for real.

Computers are really incredible machines. The personality of your wife looks so real. And simulated intelligence programs have even got better, since you created this one simulation, your very first simulation. Nowadays, it’s close to impossible to distinguish between a simulation and a real person. There is only one way to tell them apart: the simulation cannot know when the real person, its model, is already dead. The simulation still believes itself is alive. As a result, your wife can keep on talking, as if she hadn’t been killed in an accident, five years ago.

The first orders that you got were all of this kind: bringing back a loved one from death, at least virtually. Prolonging a life, making it possible for people to continue communicating with the loved one, the parent, or the child, even touching it (provided they have the adequate hardware). Even odors can be reproduced now. It makes your work harder, but you are a perfectionist, and your clients are always satisfied. Bringing back loved ones, that’s what you do. Well, that’s what you did.

With the next day comes a new order. You decrypt the files with a password provided to you. If the files are encrypted, it means that it’s a different kind of order. The weird kind of order. But also the kind that pays more.

The target model for the simulation is a woman in her thirties. Your client may be one of her coworkers, or maybe a friend of hers, you don’t know. Actually, you don’t have the right to know. There is a clause in your contract that explicitly forbids you from searching any additional information about your client, except for the information already directly provided by him. All the data that you have about the target of the simulation is the data provided by the client. The client himself is anonymous, as is the case for all such orders. He will pay you by indirect means, to protect his identity. It’s a necessity, since it’s all illegal. But on the other hand, you’ll be paid much more than for an ordinary order, maybe ten or twenty times more.

Clients often have precise scenarios in mind. Apart from photos, videos and other recordings taken without the knowing of the person used as model for the simulation, clients also provide stories to input into the intelligence simulator program. Of course, you erase all these documents when you are done with your work. Let’s not think of what would happen if the police or someone else inspected the files on your computer before you had the time to erase everything. Your life would surely change for the worst.

The first time that you received such an order, you were taken aback. But the remuneration promised to you took you aback too, and as it happened, you were in dire need of money at that time. Not a long time ago, you had underwent a very expensive operation in the hospital. Like most people as poor as you, you didn’t have any health insurance, and paying for the operation forced you to take a heavy loan and mortgage your house. That order which promised a generous remuneration came just at the right moment, and allowed you to repay your loan and even put some money aside. It didn’t take you long to leave aside your qualms.

After all, this is all virtual. One may see, hear, feel, touch – precisely what all such clients want – but it all remains virtual. The individual used as the target of the simulation may well be alive, but will never know that somewhere, there is a virtual copy of herself, a simulated copy that fulfills the fantasies of your client. So you just put aside your scruples, and started accepting all orders of that kind without further hesitation.

You have been used to such orders for a long time, and now, they account for most of your income.

You shake your head to shake off your thoughts and focus on the present moment. You prepare yourself mentally before starting. You open the first file that will let you discover the individual that is to be used as a model for the new simulation.

And you recognize her at once. It’s her. The woman you have known since she was only a fetus in the womb of your wife. The one that you have carried in your arms when she was just a little girl.



Example of VR helmet

Photo from: Andri Koolme (CC - BY 2.0)


30th November 2018